FRANKLIN - Current school board members Linda Witkowski and Tim Nielson will stay on the school board for another term, beating out first-time candidate Adam Scanlan.

Witkowski had the most votes April 4, earning 2,544 votes. Nielson was close behind with 2,348. Since two seats were were on the ballot, each won a seat on the board.

"(I'm) happy and humbled," Nielson said in response to winning re-election. "Happy knowing I have another three years to sit on a Board that does good work that has the best interest of all our kids at the center of the decisions we make. Humbled in knowing that there are more people that know of me than I of them and that they have enough faith in me to put me back on the Board for another three years."

Scanlan ended the day with 1,407 votes.

"I am thankful to have had the support of so many members of the community and Franklin Public Schools," Scanlan said. "I respect Tim and Linda, and I think it speaks volumes to the community in voting in each incumbent on the ballot in the contested elections."

Scanlan also mentioned that he plans to stay informed in school board issues and "looks forward to the opportunity of running again in future years."

In their next term, both Nielson and Witkowski will be involved in the search for a new district administrator and seeing the new Forest Park Middle School building come to fruition.

"I am looking forward to the new middle school building," Witkowski said. "It will provide new opportunities for our students and community."

The new building will also bring a new structure to the school, which Nielson said should be a positive change.

"Seeing that new school with a 6-7-8 grade configuration and all the benefits that go along with that, from a curriculum standpoint, is going to be a great goal to see finally accomplished," Nielson said. Currently Forest Park only has seventh and eighth grade, and sixth grade classes are housed in the elementary school buildings.

Witkowski has served on the school board for the past nine years, and Nielson has served for the past six.

Out of 23,509 registered voters in the city, 6,039 voted in the spring election, according to unofficial results from the city clerk's office, for a participation rate of approximately 25 percent.

Read or Share this story: http://www.mysouthnow.com/story/news/local/franklin/2017/04/04/franklin-school-board-members-linda-witkowski-and-tim-nielson-keep-seats/100037464/